Auto Tags of East Broward
The Basics of Out of State Vehicle Registration
Living in Florida is exciting and if you are just moving to the Sunshine State, you are in for a treat! Although, if you are moving with a car from a different state, you need to be prepared for the Out of State vehicle registration. There are some rules that may not apply from the previous registration to the state-based requirements, and if you are moving to Florida with an out-of-state car, you need to update both the vehicle’s registration and your license information. To get started, here are the basics you need to know about out-of-state vehicle registration in Florida.
After moving to Florida, you have only 10 days to register the out-of-state vehicle. This timeline starts counting from the moment you take up residence in Florida. If you are only visiting, for a period over 10 days, you can pack your vehicle and get a rental car or bike to move around so you don’t get into trouble with the law. But if you are moving to Florida to live or work, you have to register any out-of-state vehicles within 10 days of the move.
Conditions of Residency
We have emphasized the fact that registering an out-of-state vehicle is only expected of people taking up residence in Florida. For you to be considered as a resident, you have to be employed in Florida, have a residential address, or have a child enrolled in any of the public schools within the state. So before moving to Florida, you need to have secured employment in the state or confirmed your living address at least. That way, registering your out-of-state vehicle will be possible with a verifiable work or home address.
Applying for the title (requirements)
Registering a vehicle that was titled out-of-state starts with the Application For Certificate Of Title, which can be obtained and completed before visiting the tax collector's office. The registration requirements for out-of-state vehicles include;
Valid Florida driver's license.
Proof of auto insurance in Florida.
Former registration or plate number, if the license plate is being transferred.
Applicant’s signature on the form.
Proof of current lien with Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), vehicle make and year, for financed vehicles.
Original certificate of out-of-state title with applicant’s name.
Proof of current Florida property damage liability and personal insurance, including the insurance company’s name and policy number.
Another requirement for the registration is a Vehicle Identification Odometer Verification Form, which must be completed by:
A Florida Division of Motor Vehicles compliance examiner
A licensed car dealer
A Florida-recognized notary
A Law enforcement officer
A member of the United States Military Police
For out-of-state cars with multiple owners, all owners must sign the form and be present with their proof of identity.
In Florida, vehicle registration is a pretty straightforward process, if you got your car in the state, but for an out-of-state car, there are additional processes. With these basics, you will be able to complete your out-of-state vehicle registration in Florida in no time at all. For professional consultation, contact us at East Broward Auto Tags - we’ve got you covered! When it comes to Broward auto tags, look no further than us! Don’t waste your time at the Broward County DMV or any other Fort Lauderdale tag agencies. Come into Auto Tags of East Broward for the best place for all things Broward tag renewals, Broward tags and titles, and more. Find our online renewals here, or find out more about what we can do for you here.
To learn more about the basics of Florida registration, check out these resources below: Resource 1 | Resource 2 | Resource 3