Auto Tags of East Broward
Motorcycle Registration: The Basics
Got a new motorcycle and you want to get it registered in Florida? You’re on the right path! Registration of all vehicles is important in Florida because under the regulations of Florida, you must possess a valid registration and a license plate to legally operate your vehicle on Florida's roads. And that includes motorcycles. Ready to go for a spin on the island? Here are some tips to help you figure out the basics on how to register your motorcycle in Florida.
What You Need
The process of getting your motorcycle registered in Florida is quite similar to getting a car title, so if you have your car registered in Florida, you are quite familiar with the process. When you are getting your motorcycle registered, you will get a title for it. The process is primarily handled by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), but you can speed up the process with a DMV alternative like Auto Tags. To get started, you need the following documents:
Proof of motorcycle insurance in Florida
Completed application for certificate of title With/Without Registration (HSMV form 82040)
Valid proof of identity
Proof of ownership
Completed motorcycle inspection
Payment of registration fees – these fees usually include the payment for initial registration ($225), an antique motorcycle registration fee ($7.50), a mobile app processing fee ($4), the online processing fee ($2), and the motorcycle registration fee ($10).
After completing your registration, here are the basics you are to be provided with:
Certificate of registration
The original certificate of registration must be in the possession of the motorcycle rider at all times as mandated in section 320.0605, Florida Statutes.
A metal license plate
It is required that the number on the metal license plate must correspond to the number given on the decal (a sticker that is provided on the certificate of registration). The registration in the top right section of the license plate must be affixed to the motorcycle as mandated in section 320.38, Florida Statutes. A metal plate and a certificate of registration indicate without doubt that you have completed payment for your registration fees and submitted any other required documents.
These are the base title tax for the registration of some motorcycles in Florida:
Motorcycles. - $10.00
Moped - $5.00
Antique motorcycles - $7.50
Auto cycle - $10.00
It should be noted that other statutory fees apply here and this represents the base vehicle tax only. Also, please note that vehicles with out-of-state registrations are to be registered within 10 days of the owner becoming a resident of Florida, enrolling children in a public school, or becoming employed in Florida.
You will be required to renew your motorcycle license annually and you can do this online, physically at your local service center, or through the Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles mobile app and DMV alternatives like Auto Tags. It is also important to remember that there are different classifications for cycles like bicycles and mopeds. Ensure to check in with your local service center before you begin the registration process.
If you are looking for new Fort Lauderdale tag renewals, Fort Lauderdale auto tags, or Fort Lauderdale tags and titles, stop by Auto Tags of East Broward. We have it all when it comes to auto tags - skip the line at the Fort Lauderdale DMV. Don’t go to any other Broward tag agency - stop by East Broward Auto Tags today. Check out our website to learn more about what we do here, or find our online renewals on this page to get started.
Check out these other resources to learn more about Florida motorcycle registration: